Eyeball pattern, as requested!

Here’s the basics of how I made the stuffed eyeball, it’s not an exact pattern but I’m sure you all can figure out the little details:

eyeball1.jpg

Yarn: I used worsted weight super value Bernat yarn in white, hot pink, green, and black.

Eyeball Body:
With white yarn and size 4.5-5mm double-pointed needles, cast on as many stitches as you want for size (I used 60 stitches). Knit in the round until the length of the tube measures 3/4 the width/diameter of the tube. Change to whatever colour you wish the iris to be (I used green), and knit green rows until you reach the right size for your eyeball (I did 6 rows). Then change to black yarn, I knit 4 rows, again depending on the size of your eyeball you’d want to alter that. Bind off all stitches leaving a 4 inch tail to sew up the bottom.

Finishing up eyeball body: Using a yarn needle and white yarn, sew up the sclera and pull tight. Don’t sew up the pupil (black end) just yet, you need it open to stuff it 🙂

eyeball2.jpg

Optic nerve:
Using red/pink (or other fun colour) yarn make an I-cord of 5 stitches, and continue until it measures about 2/3 to 3/4 of the length of your eyeball body. Bind off and leave a 4 inch tail for finishing. Sew the I-cord into the body of the eyeball – this is a bit tricky, and you could certainly just pick up stitches from the eyeball body instead of knitting the cord seperately…but this is the way I did it 🙂

Finishing:
Stuff the body of the eyeball until it’s nice and round. I used regular, run-of-the-mill polyester filling, you could put some beans in the bottom to make it sit better, but I found it was fine due to the I-cord. Using a needle, embroider on some random blood vessels in red/pink/_____ yarn. There you’re done!

Well that’s a basic run-through of what I did…I really just quickly whipped it up in 30 mins just for fun! If you have any questions, post in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer them. I’d love to see any finished products for those who try this out!! It would make some fun decorations at Hallowe’en!

~M~

5 Responses

  1. hey gal, its pretty gross! and it looks REAL!
    Its a green eye ball huh? Love the capillaries! haha

  2. Ohhh I’m jumping for joy here…just checked back to see if maybe you did post the pattern and you did! I can hardly wait to make some of these…will definitely send one to my brother…he will get suck a kick out of it (he is such the jokester)…will probably gross his wife out LOL…oh and my husband, and his backhoe operator…his best friend…oh lots of people to make these for LOL…Thank you so much!
    ~Tricia

  3. Will make my grandson an eyeball hat for next winter. Pretty cool. My “adult” friend, a female, from NY wants an eyeball hat…….

  4. I can tell that this is not the first time at all that you write about this topic. Why have you decided to write about it again?

Leave a comment